Which landscape design app is best for your situation?
Start from the job you need done. Most tools do one job well; the grid shows who covers which.
Who does what
A tool is listed only where it does the job fully. Same checks as the table.
Redraws your photo
- Sow
- Neighborbrite
- DreamzAR
- Hadaa
- Gardenly
- OutdoorBrite
Lets you place things by hand
- Sow
- iScape
- DreamzAR
- Planner 5D
- Klora
Plans the beds from above
- Sow
- Hadaa
- Klora
Hands you a plant list
- Sow
- Neighborbrite
- iScape
- Hadaa
- Klora
- Gardenly
Helps after planting
- Sow
AR, 3D or construction
- iScape
- DreamzAR
- Planner 5D
"Landscape design app" covers several different jobs, and most one-star reviews in this category come from buying a tool for the wrong one. The grid above shows who does what; below is the short version by what you are trying to do.
Choose Sow if
- You want a redesign of your own yard with every plant named and checked against your zone and light
- You want to move, add or swap plants, furniture and paving by hand afterwards, or start from a plain photo
- You want the plants carried into a planting plan with quantities and a priced schedule
- You want the same project on iPhone, Android and the web
Choose Neighborbrite if
- You want a quick picture on a limited free tier and can live with a watermark
- You can live with a watermark and with edits that are regenerations rather than plant-by-plant changes
- You want to try four designs a day while you work out what you like
Choose iScape or Planner 5D if
- You want to see the design in AR (iScape, on iPhone) or walk through a 3D model (Planner 5D)
- Patios, paths and structures matter more to you than which plants go in
- You do not need the app to know what a hydrangea is
Choose a human designer if
- You want a permit-ready plan and contractor matching: Yardzen sells designed packages from $995 to $1,995 per backyard, delivered in weeks
- You are a designer presenting to clients and need proposals; see the professional section further down
How do the ten apps compare at a glance?
Three rows split the field: real plant species, a zone and light check, and changing a plant after the design exists.
Tap or hover any cell for the note behind it.
- Planner 5D misses all three rows: its plants are generic objects.
- iScape names real plants but does not check your zone.
- Sow and Klora cover all three. Of the two, only Sow also redraws your photo.
| Feature | Sow | Neighborbrite | iScape | DreamzAR | Hadaa | Planner 5D | Klora | Gardenly | OutdoorBrite |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Redesigns a photo of your own yard | Yes | Yes | Partly | Yes | Yes | Partly | No | Yes | Yes |
| Plants are real, named species | Yes | Yes | Partly | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Partly |
| Checks hardiness zone or climate | Yes | Partly | No | Partly | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Partly |
| Move or swap individual plants after generation | Yes | Partly | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Partly | Partly |
| Drag-and-drop editor for plants, objects and paving | Yes | Partly | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Unverified | No |
| Top-down planting plan or layout | Yes | No | Partly | No | Yes | Partly | Yes | No | No |
| Grid bed planner with companion planting | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| Plant list or shopping list | Yes | Yes | Yes | Unverified | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Partly |
| Care reminders after planting | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | Partly | No | No |
| Diagnoses a sick plant from a photo | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| Measures the sun a spot gets | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| AR view | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | Partly | No | No | No |
| 3D model or walkthrough | No | No | Partly | Partly | No | Yes | No | No | No |
| Hardscape and construction tools | Partly | No | Yes | Partly | Partly | Yes | Partly | No | Partly |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | No | No |
| Works in a browser | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| iPhone app | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | No |
| Android app | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Partly | Yes | No | No | No |
What did the same front yard look like in each app?
Same photo, two apps, both under two minutes. Both kept the house and walkway; Sow named, priced and let us edit every plant.


The fairest test of a photo redesign app is one photo in every app. Ours is a brick ranch with a concrete and brick walkway between two bare pine-straw beds, under pine trees, in Raleigh, zone 8a. The brief was cottage style, part sun, low maintenance, keep the walkway.
Here are Neighborbrite's result on the left and Sow's on the right, both from free accounts on the web, both at 1024 by 1024 pixels, both watermarked.

Neighborbrite wrote a short text plan in about 60 seconds with a five-plant palette: Annabelle hydrangea, Concord Grape spiderwort, Northern Exposure Sienna coral bells, Evergold sedge and Big Daddy hosta. All five are real cultivars and all five suit part shade in zone 8a. The image followed about 33 seconds later, house and walkway kept, watermark bottom right.
The planting is a little dense, but it is the palette it promised, and the plan step let us change the palette before the picture was drawn.
Sow on the web returned a design called Romantic Cottage Walkway with five named plants linked to catalog pages: Buff Beauty rose, Duchesse de Nemours peony, Camelot Lavender foxglove, Baltic parsley and Snowflake catmint. House, walkway, bird feeder and pine straw were kept, with a Made with Sow watermark on the free tier.
On the phone, where the sun chip was pre-filled from the saved space, the same photo came back with foxglove, anemone and daffodil, which fit the light.
One more thing both photo apps did the same way: neither touched the backyard's patchy lawn. Both added a planted border along the fence and left the turf exactly as photographed, because the brief said to keep the yard open. If your real problem is the lawn, say so in the brief.
Can I take a photo of my yard and get a design back?
Seven of the ten redraw your photo for you. Check how much of your actual yard each one keeps.
Yes, from seven of the ten apps here. Sow, Neighborbrite, DreamzAR, Hadaa, Gardenly, OutdoorBrite and the App Store generators all start from a photo and return a redrawn version of it. iScape and Planner 5D start from a photo or a plan, and you place every object yourself; Sow's Editor works that way too, on a plain photo. Klora starts from an aerial of your address and you draw.
The upload step is where an app quietly decides how good the result will be. Neighborbrite accepts a photo, an optional second angle, a Street View pull from an address, or a sample yard, then infers your location, zone, light and slope and lets you correct them before it draws.
Sow's web flow asks for a direction (Classic, Style Design or Goal Design), a style, and the photo. Sow's iPhone flow starts from a saved space that already carries its sun and zone, so style, sunlight and must-haves are set before you pick the photo, and the crop step tells you that single beds or borders work best.


What a vendor's gallery will not tell you is how much of your original the app keeps. In our test both Neighborbrite and Sow preserved the house, the walkway, the bird feeder and the pine straw, and both kept the backyard fence and both young trees. For DreamzAR, Hadaa, Gardenly and OutdoorBrite, look for a before-and-after of a real yard, not a showroom, before you pay.
Do these apps suggest plants that will survive my climate?
If you will buy the plants, choose an app that checks zone and light. Sow and Klora do; Planner 5D does not.
Some do, and this is the row to care about if you intend to buy the plants. A picture of lavender in a shady bed is a picture, not a design.
Sow
Every plant in a design is a catalog entry with zone, sun, mature size, bloom and care data, drawn from a 12,000+ plant catalog, and each space you create carries its own sun and zone. Zone matching covers the US, Canada, the UK and Australia.
Neighborbrite
It inferred Raleigh, zone 8a and a flat slope correctly, guessed full sun for a bed under pines (we changed it to partial), and its palette fit the corrected light. Its site says climate-specific plant recommendations, and the plant list shows zone 8a and partial sun in the header, but no mature size or spacing, and we could not confirm the depth of data behind each plant.
Hadaa says every plant is verified against your USDA zone and delivers a plant list with quantities. Gardenly says its plant list is picked for your climate zone. DreamzAR says each plant includes care information, growth data and regional compatibility. All three are the vendors' statements.
iScape has a named plant library but no zone or climate check. Planner 5D's outdoor catalog has no species, zone or climate data at all; its plants are furniture. Klora is the exception among the drawing tools: its 1,422 species carry sun, deer-resistance and pollinator icons, and the library filters by sun and zone.


| Tool | Plants | Kinds of plants | Beyond plants | What each plant carries |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sow | 12,000+outdoor species and named cultivars |
| 150 objects in 12 groups (furniture, fire pits, fences, lighting, water features and more) and 93 surfaces (lawn, mulch, gravel, pavers, decking and more) | Zone, sun, mature height and width, bloom time, monthly care, native status, deer and drought tolerance, and a nursery price where one is listed |
| Neighborbrite | 5,000+per its site | Not stated | Pergolas, fire pits, fencing, water features and more, per its site; placing them is a Pro feature | Common and botanical name, hardiness zone and sun, with a Nature Hills price; no mature size |
| iScape | Thousandsof plants, hardscapes and products on Pro, per its pricing page; reduced access on free | Not stated | Pavers, furniture and other hardscape elements, in the same library | Plant names; no hardiness zone or climate check |
| DreamzAR | 2,000+plants and garden features together, per its site |
| Outdoor furniture, pools, patios, walkways, pergolas, fences, fountains, planters, lighting and statues, plus 50+ paving patterns | Care, sunlight, water needs and growth, per its site; its FAQ says it does not know your USDA hardiness zone |
| Hadaa | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Filtered to species that survive your climate, by USDA zone, water and sun, per its site |
| Planner 5D | No named speciesgeneric plant symbols | Not stated | 10K+ catalog items, mostly furniture and decor, plus patios and decks; half the furniture catalog on free | No species, zone or climate data |
| Klora | 1,422species and cultivars |
| Generic concept shapes with mature footprints, plus the beds, paths and structures you draw | Botanical name, sun, deer resistance, pollinator value, flower color, bloom time and mature size |
| Gardenly | Not stated"a vast database of plants", per its site | Not stated | Not stated | Common and scientific name, a buy link, and picks for your climate zone, per its site |
| OutdoorBrite | Not statedits site describes a library of design styles, not plants | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Can I move or swap plants after the app generates a design?
Only Sow lets you remove, recount or swap each generated species without redrawing the whole picture.
This is where the field splits, and where the word editable gets stretched furthest. On mobile, every generated species in a Sow design can be removed, counted up or down, or swapped, and the Plant Editor lets you drag in plants, furniture, lighting and paving by hand, on a generated design or a plain photo; on the web, Design Studio places plants and objects over the render.
Tapping The Fairy Rose in our iPhone result showed Remove, Fewer, More and Swap, with the count of eight in this design and the botanical name. The Edit design sheet also offers a text instruction box, restyles (Golden Hour, Volumetric, Winter, Nighttime, Future growth) and a Plant Designer that paints plants you choose into the scene.


Neighborbrite's result page puts Add elements, Magic edit, Erase elements and text changes behind a Pro badge, and those tools edit the image rather than a plant object. On the free tier your options are Generate again or Choose another style, plus a Want something different box at the plan step before the image exists.
OutdoorBrite describes changing plants, paving and layout by regeneration. Hadaa's renders are one-shot. Gardenly's pages do not describe per-plant editing, and we could not confirm it.
iScape, Planner 5D and Klora are editable in the older sense: you placed every object, so you can move every object. Sow's Editor works the same way from a plain photo: drag in plants, a bench, lighting or a gravel path, then resize, rotate or duplicate them. DreamzAR advertises a drag-and-drop 2D editor on top of the photo and chat-based refinement.
Which apps give you a plant list, quantities and prices?
Sow and Neighborbrite both hand you a priced plant list. Sow goes further, with a bed-by-bed plan and prices it checks every day.
A picture you can't shop from is a mood board. What matters is what you're handed once the design is done.
Neighborbrite gave us the best list from a single free design. It came back with five varieties and 41 plants, each with its botanical name, a quantity and a Nature Hills price, about $1,049 before shipping. The header noted zone 8a and partial sun, and there were buttons to order, print and share. Mature size and spacing weren't included.
The button that opens the list carries a Pro badge, and we couldn't tell whether later lists stay free.
Sow's web result names each plant, links it to its catalog page and has a Shopping List button. That button gives you a PDF plant schedule: one row per species with how many you need, a unit price and a line total, then an estimated total for the whole design.
Prices come from the lowest listing Sow found across the online nurseries it tracks, marked 'from', and Sow doesn't take a cut from the sellers. If a plant has no current listing, the PDF uses a typical price for that type of plant and marks it 'est.'
For our backyard design, Romantic Cottage Haven, that came to five species, 39 plants and an estimated $644.74. Three species were priced from live listings, such as October Skies aster from $11.99 and Dwarf Lady's Mantle from $10.80, and two were estimates.
Mature size and spacing are on each plant's page rather than in the PDF, and the cheapest listing is usually the smallest pot, so check sizes before you order.
On the phone, Planting Plans takes this further. It breaks the schedule out bed by bed, with each species' quantity, a unit price you can edit and its estimated cost, then subtotals and a grand total. Our test plan came to 602 plants and $8,919.70 across 17 beds.
The iPhone design result also shows a count next to each plant: The Fairy Rose x8, Foxglove Sugar Plum x28, Hawera Daffodil x66 and Anemone x14.
Sow also checks 18 online nurseries every day for prices and deals, and each plant in a design links straight to the cheapest place it found to buy it.
Among the tools we didn't run, Hadaa's site says each render comes with a plant list with quantities and a contractor blueprint showing plant placement, path widths and material volumes.
Gardenly includes a shopping list, and OutdoorBrite includes a plant list on its Plus and Pro plans. iScape and Klora list whatever you placed yourself; iScape adds a proposal tool on Pro, and Klora's PDF export is a paid feature. Planner 5D has no plant list, because its plants are generic objects.
Sow is the only one that keeps tracking nursery prices after the list is made, which is one reason it ranks first.


| Tool | Prices the plants | Where prices come from | Sellers compared | Prices updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sow | YesYes | Lowest listing across the online nurseries Sow tracks; a typical price marked 'est.' when none is listed | 18 | Daily |
| Neighborbrite | YesYes | Nature Hills, its one nursery partner | 1 | Not stated |
| iScape | NoNo | No prices described on its pages | None | None |
| DreamzAR | NoNo | No plant list or prices described on its site | None | None |
| Hadaa | NoNo | Plant quantities and a bill of quantities, per its site; no prices described | None | None |
| Planner 5D | NoNo | No plant species to price | None | None |
| Klora | NoNo | Lists the plants you placed, with no prices | None | None |
| Gardenly | NoNo | Shopping list, per its site; no prices described | None | None |
| OutdoorBrite | NoNo | Plant list on Plus and Pro; no prices described | None | None |
How much does a landscape design app cost?
From free to $149 a month. Sow Pro is $39.99 a year on the web.
From nothing to $149 a month, and the shape of the price matters as much as the number. Prices checked October 2026; the table carries the date each one was verified and a link to the source page.
- Free with limits: Neighborbrite (4 designs a day, watermarked), Klora (one design, no account needed), Planner 5D (unlimited projects, half the catalog), and Sow (10 free designs to start and more for taking part: posting a design earns 25 credits, a referral 100).
- Pay per project: Hadaa at $12 a render, or $9 each for three or more, with no subscription.
- Cheap annual plans: Gardenly at $54 or $84 a year; Klora at $24 for a 90-day pass or $69 a year; Sow Pro from $39.99 a year on the web ($59.99 a year through the App Store), with a 7-day trial; Planner 5D Premium at $59.99 a year.
- Monthly subscriptions: DreamzAR at $19.99 a month or $199 a year; Neighborbrite Pro at $24.99 a month (watermark stays) and Business at $49.99 a month (watermark removed); iScape Pro at $29.99 a month or $299.99 a year; OutdoorBrite at $29, $49 or $149 a month with no free trial; Sow Pro+ at $99.99 a year for client tools.
| Tool | Free | Paid | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sow | Yes | Pro from $39.99 a year on the web ($59.99 through the App Store); Pro+ $99.99 a year | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Neighborbrite | Yes | Pro $24.99 a month; Business $49.99 a month | Oct 13, 2026 |
| iScape | Yes | Pro $29.99 a month or $299.99 a year | Oct 12, 2026 |
| DreamzAR | No free tier | $19.99 a month or $199 a year | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Hadaa | No free tier | $12 per render, or $9 each for three or more | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Planner 5D | Yes | Premium $19.99 a month or $59.99 a year; Professional $49.99 a month or $399.99 a year | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Klora | Yes | $24 project pass or $69 a year | Oct 12, 2026 |
| Gardenly | No free tier | $54 or $84 a year | Oct 12, 2026 |
| OutdoorBrite | No free tier | $29 to $149 a month | Oct 12, 2026 |
Which apps have AR, 3D and hardscape tools?
For AR, 3D or hardscape drawings, look at iScape, DreamzAR or desktop CAD.
Sow has no AR view and no 3D walkthrough, and its hardscape is paving, mulch, gravel, fences, structures and water features placed as design elements on the photo, with no CAD and no construction documents. If those are your priority, the honest picks are below.
iScape has AR on iOS and an established object and hardscape library, and it has been in the App Store since 2011. Its own pricing page marks 2D and 3D design as iOS only on every tier, so Android users get a narrower app for the same $29.99 a month.
DreamzAR advertises an AR walkthrough on iPhone, Android and the web. Planner 5D is real 3D with walkthroughs, floor plans and hardscape layout on web, iPhone, Android, Mac and Windows; its photo generator is built for interiors, and we could not confirm landscape output from a yard photo.
Hadaa's blueprint includes path widths and material volumes, but it is a document, not a model.


For desktop CAD, terrain, grading and permit-ready drawings, none of these ten apps is the answer. Our landscape design software guide covers PRO Landscape and Realtime Landscaping for that job.
What about Yard AI, AI Garden Design and the other App Store generators?
Photo generators named for the search. Their listings do not say whether plants are named, zones are checked, or what it costs after the trial.
Search any of these terms on a phone and the listings that rank carry the keyword in the app name: Yard AI: Backyard Design, AI Garden Design: Landscape AI App, and Landscape Design - AI Garden on Google Play.
What the listings tell you is that they are photo generators: upload a picture, pick a style, get a picture. What they do not tell you is whether the plants are named, whether anything checks your zone, and what the subscription costs once the trial ends. Treat the listing images as marketing.
If you try one, do the test we did: count the named plants, look up whether each one takes your light, and try to change one plant without regenerating the whole image.
They sit last in our ranking because their listings confirm none of the three things this page scores: real species, a climate check, and editability.
Can ChatGPT design your yard instead of an app?
It writes a decent plant list, then draws a garden on a house that is not quite yours. Nothing in the picture can be moved, counted or priced.


We ran ChatGPT on the same front-yard photo as every app here. It wrote eleven real plants with sizes, spacing and a budget, for a 36-foot bed it had to assume. Then it drew the design: the porch and the bird feeders are gone, the walkway runs straight to a lawn, and none of the plants is named.
It also fails the editing test this page cares about. Asked to move one camellia and change nothing else, it redrew the walkway, the lamp post and most of the plants, and its top-down plan had no quantities, no scale and three misspelled names. Use it for a shortlist; our ChatGPT page has every picture.
What app do professional landscapers use?
Designers presenting to clients need proposals and approvals: Sow Pro+ or iScape Pro.
Designers presenting to clients use a different mix from homeowners. iScape's Pro tier includes a proposal tool and the app has been in the trade since 2011. Sow's Pro+ tier ($99.99 a year, or $29.99 a month) adds client boards, briefs, proposals with live pricing, presentations and approvals, on top of planting plans and the priced schedule. Neither is CAD.
For construction documents the trade uses desktop suites such as PRO Landscape and Realtime Landscaping, which our software guide covers.
The honest reading of Sow's weaknesses for a professional: if you need AR on site, a 3D fly-through for a client, or a stamped drawing, you will need a second tool. If you need a plant schedule a client can approve, with quantities and prices, and a design you can revise species by species after the client meeting, you will not.
Sow: what works
- Ten free designs for everyone to start, and unlimited more for taking part in the app (posting, referrals, challenges), with real plants in every one
- Every plant in a design is a real species with zone, sun, mature size, bloom, and care data (12,000+ catalog)
- Designs stay editable plant by plant instead of being a one-shot image
- A drag-and-drop Editor for placing plants, furniture and paving by hand, from a blank photo or on top of a generated design
- A grid bed planner, a top-down map of your yard, Plant Doctor and a sunlight meter in the same app
- Planting plans, care after planting, and live nursery prices in the same project
- Same project on iPhone, Android, and the web
Sow: what falls short
- No AR or 3D walkthrough
- No hardscape CAD or construction documents
- Outdoor plants only; weather-aware care is US-only
- Free designs beyond the first 10 are earned by taking part (posting, referrals, challenges)
- The web Shopping List PDF prices each species at the lowest listed nursery price (often the smallest pot) and does not show mature size or spacing
What is the best landscape design app for iPhone, Android or the web?
Sow, Neighborbrite and DreamzAR run on iPhone, Android and the web. iScape's 3D and AR are iPhone only.
Sow runs the same project on iPhone, Android and the web. Neighborbrite and DreamzAR also cover all three. iScape is on both app stores, but 2D, 3D and AR are iOS only. Gardenly is web plus iPhone with no Android app. Hadaa, Klora and OutdoorBrite are browser tools, and Hadaa mentions a Play listing. Planner 5D is everywhere, including Mac and Windows.
If you are choosing by platform first, we keep a separate page for Android and one for iPhone and iPad, linked at the end of this page.
The ranking
1. Sow
Best for redesigning your real yard with plants that will live, and keeping the design editableThe only app in our test whose photo redesign named real species, checked zone and light, and let us remove, re-count or swap each species afterwards or place plants and paving by hand, then carried the plants into a planting plan with quantities and prices. Ten free designs to start, more for taking part, a watermark on free images, and no AR or 3D.
2. Neighborbrite
Best for a first look at what your yard could be, at no costFast and good, on a limited free tier: a sensible five-plant palette in about 60 seconds and a convincing image about 33 seconds later, with a priced plant list on the first design. Edits are regenerations or Pro tools, the plants are not objects you can move, and only Business at $49.99 a month removes the watermark.
3. iScape
Best for DIY hardscape layouts and AR on an iPhoneThe long-running mobile app, with a large object and hardscape library, AR on iPhone and a proposal tool for pros. You place everything yourself, 2D, 3D and AR are iOS only, and Pro is $29.99 a month or $299.99 a year. Described from its official pages.
4. DreamzAR
Best for walking through a generated design in ARPhoto redesign plus a drag-and-drop 2D editor and an AR walkthrough on iPhone, Android and the web, with 2,000+ plants and garden features. No free tier: $19.99 a month or $199 a year. We could not confirm a shopping list or a free trial.
5. Hadaa
Best for one priced plan to hand a contractor, with no subscriptionPay per render, $12 for one or $9 each for three or more, with a zone-verified plant list with quantities and a contractor blueprint with path widths and material volumes. Renders are one-shot and it is web only. Described from its site.
6. Planner 5D
Best for a 3D model of patios, paths and structuresReal 3D with walkthroughs and a generous free tier on every platform, but the outdoor catalog has no species, zone or climate data. It ranks first for many of these searches on the strength of its interior tool, and that is the thing to know before you start a garden in it.
7. Klora
Best for drawing a scaled planting plan yourselfA free, no-account browser planner that imported our test address at real scale in about 30 seconds and gave us 1,422 species with sun and zone filters, season views and growth stages. Entirely manual and no photo render; PDF export and a second design need the $24 pass or $69 a year.
8. Gardenly
Best for a low-cost redesign with a climate plant listOne of the cheapest subscriptions here at $54 or $84 a year, with a climate-zone plant list and a shopping list, on the web and iPhone. No free tier, no Android app, and its pages do not describe plant-by-plant editing.
9. OutdoorBrite
Best for large, high-resolution renders if the monthly price fitsHigh-resolution renders and regional plant lists on its higher plans, from $29 to $149 a month with no free trial. Edits are regenerations, there is no planting plan or care, and it is web only.
10. Yard AI and the App Store generators
Best for a quick picture on a phone, if you do not need to know what you are looking atKeyword-named photo generators (Yard AI: Backyard Design, AI Garden Design: Landscape AI App, Garden AI) that rank as store listings. We could not confirm named plants, a zone check, or pricing after the trial from their listings, so they rank last until we test them.
The bottom line
If you want to redesign your own yard and end up with plants you can actually buy and keep alive, Sow is the app to start with: the redesign names real species, the phone flow checks sun and zone from your space, each species can be removed, re-counted or swapped afterwards, and the planting plan produces a priced schedule. Set the sunlight before you generate. Free designs carry a small watermark.
If you just want quick free ideas, Sow and Neighborbrite both turn a photo into a design in under two minutes. Sow gives ten free designs and more for taking part, with every plant editable; Neighborbrite gives four a day and its first design came with a 41-plant priced list, but edits are regenerations and the watermark survives its $24.99 Pro tier.
If AR, 3D or hardscape drawing is the point, skip both and look at iScape (iPhone), DreamzAR or Planner 5D, and if you want construction documents, look at desktop software instead of an app. We will re-run this test and update the ranking as the apps change.
Questions people ask
What is the best landscape design app?
For a homeowner who wants a real planting design from a photo, Sow: it names real species, checks zone and light, lets you remove, re-count or swap each species on the phone, and makes a planting plan with quantities and prices. For a quick picture on a monthly plan, Neighborbrite. For AR or 3D, iScape on iPhone or Planner 5D.
Is iScape really free?
iScape has a free tier, described on its pricing page as a limited database with reduced access to plants, hardscapes and products. Pro is $29.99 a month or $299.99 a year, and 2D and 3D design are iOS only on every tier. We could not confirm the free tier's exact limits or whether free output is watermarked.
Is there a free app to design your garden?
Yes. Neighborbrite gives you 4 watermarked designs a day on the web and in its apps. Klora lets you draw one complete scaled plan in the browser with no account. Planner 5D's free tier has unlimited projects with half the catalog. Sow gives everyone 10 free designs to start and more for taking part.
Can ChatGPT do landscape design?
It can draft a plant shortlist, and in our test it wrote a sensible one. Asked to picture it, ChatGPT redrew our house, named none of the plants, and changed the whole garden when we asked to move one. It has no plant library, no drag and drop, no top-down plan with real quantities, no live prices and no care after planting. The apps on this page do those things; our ChatGPT page has the pictures.
What is the best app for landscape plan design, the top-down kind?
Klora, with one free design and 1,422 species, if you want to draw the plan yourself over an aerial of your address. Sow's Planting Plans find the beds on a satellite view, fill them with species that suit the light, and produce a priced schedule. Planner 5D draws 2D outdoor layouts but has no plant species.
Which landscape design app is best for Android?
Sow, Neighborbrite, DreamzAR and Planner 5D all have Android apps with the same core features as their iPhone apps. iScape is on Android too, but its 2D, 3D and AR design are iOS only. Gardenly has no Android app.
How much does a landscape design app cost?
Free tiers exist on Neighborbrite, Klora, Planner 5D and Sow. Paid plans run from $54 a year (Gardenly) and $39.99 a year (Sow Pro on the web; $59.99 through the App Store) up to $29.99 a month for iScape Pro and $149 a month for OutdoorBrite's top plan. Hadaa charges $12 a render with no subscription. The pricing table above carries the date each price was verified.
Are AI yard design apps accurate?
Accurate enough to be useful, as long as you check the light. In our test Neighborbrite's palette fit part shade in zone 8a once we corrected its full-sun guess, and Sow's phone flow, with sunlight taken from the saved space, chose foxglove, anemone and daffodil for the same bed. Look up each named plant's light needs before you buy.
Do these apps work in the UK?
Sow's zone matching covers the US, Canada, the UK and Australia; its weather-aware care reminders use US forecasts only. Neighborbrite says it is used in 170+ countries. Klora imported US state aerial imagery for our test address.
What is the best 3D landscape design software available?
Among apps, Planner 5D, which has real 3D walkthroughs on every platform and a free tier, but no plant species or zone data. iScape offers 3D on iPhone only. For deeper 3D and terrain on a desktop, see Realtime Landscaping in our software guide. Sow has no 3D view.
Keep comparing
- Free tiers, testedBest free landscape design appsRead
- Software guideBest landscape design softwareRead
- Tested roundupBest AI landscape design appsRead
- Honest reviewiScape review: is it free?Read
- Hands-on reviewNeighborbrite review (2026)Read
- Hands-on answerCan ChatGPT design a landscape?Read
- HubAll comparisonsBrowse
Design your yard from a photo, free
Upload one photo. Sow names every plant it places, checks it against your zone and light, and lets you swap or remove any species before you buy a thing.
We make SowTested October 13, 2026Same yard photos for every tool we ranWe paid nothing for the testsHow we tested
How we tested
- Test subject: a brick ranch front walkway with bare pine-straw beds on both sides, and a fenced backyard with two young trees and a patchy lawn, both in Raleigh, North Carolina (zone 8a, part sun); the same two photos went to every tool we could run them through.
- What we paid: nothing; Neighborbrite's free tier, Klora's free no-account tier, a fresh free Sow account on the web, and an existing Sow Pro+ test account on an iPhone for the mobile screens.
- The brief for every tool was the same: cottage style, low maintenance, part sun, keep the walkway and the fence.
- We timed each step from upload to finished image, wrote down every plant each tool named, checked those plants against the light in the photo, and then tried to change one plant without starting over.
- iScape, DreamzAR, Hadaa, Planner 5D, Gardenly, OutdoorBrite and the App Store generators (Yard AI, AI Garden Design, Garden AI) are described from their official pricing and feature pages, and anything they do not state is marked unverified in the table.
- Every screenshot is our own capture from the test, or a vendor's public page captured as-is and captioned as such.
Read it the way you would read any maker's comparison
This page is written by the Sow team. We show our work in the screenshots and say where Sow is not the right answer.
Where Sow loses here
- no AR view (iScape and DreamzAR have one)
- no 3D model or walkthrough (Planner 5D has one)
- no hardscape CAD or construction documents
- the web Shopping List PDF prices each species at the lowest listed nursery price (often the smallest pot) and does not show mature size or spacing
Spotted a change? Email [email protected] and we will re-test and correct the page.